Angus Glen Golf Club ready to host the 7th Junior Girls World Championship, presented by Sargent Farms

MARKHAM, Ont.. – Canada is set to host a global showcase of the world’s best junior golfers as the seventh edition of the Junior Women’s World Championship, presented by Sargent Farms, takes place October 10-15, 2022 at Angus Glen Golf Club in Markham, Ont.

A total of 54 athletes from 18 teams representing 17 countries, including two teams from host nation Canada, will compete for the team and individual titles. The event marks the celebrated return of the prestigious global competition after two years of cancellation due to the pandemic.

“Together with our partners at Golf Ontario and Sargent Farms, Golf Canada is extremely proud to celebrate the return of the Junior Girls World Championship,” said Mary Beth McKenna, Director, Amateur Championships and Rules, Golf Canada. “This championship has become a world-class showcase featuring some of the most promising young athletes from around the world. It is an honor to welcome these talented juniors – many of whom will find success in the professional game – back to Angus Glen and to support these Canadian and international talents on their golf course.

“The Junior Women’s World Championship has become a signature event on our championship calendar and there is great excitement in welcoming this exceptional group of athletes from around the world to compete for an international title on home soil,” said Mike Kelly. , CEO of Golf Ontario. “Angus Glen has proven time and time again to be a world-class host and championship-worthy venue that will be ready to challenge the best junior golfers in the world.”

Canada’s head coach will be Jennifer Ha, of Calgary, Alta., who is currently the assistant coach for Team Canada – NextGen Squad. The support coach will be PGA of Canada professional Emma de Groot, a native of New South Wales, Australia and residing in Hamilton, Ontario. who is currently Director of Female Development at Modern Golf.

Canada 1 includes Angela Arora, 18, of Surrey, BC, Lauren Kim, 17, of Surrey, BC, and Michelle Liu, 15, of Vancouver. Arora, who finished T20 at the 2019 Junior Women’s World Championship, competed in the 2022 US Women’s Amateur match, finished second in the Pacific Northwest Women’s Amateur and NextGen Selection Camp, and also won the NextGen Pacific Championship. Kim, who finished T52 at the 2019 Junior Women’s World Championship, had a 2022 season marked by a second-place finish at the Canada Summer Games, a third-place finish at the Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship and a T33 individual result at the World Team amateur. Championship. Liu, who qualified for her second CP Women’s Open in 2022, qualified for match play at the US Junior Girls Championship, finished 7e at the Texas Women’s Open (pro) and was the winner of Golf Canada’s recent NextGen selection camp.

The Canada 2 team is represented by Yeji Kwon, 16, Port Coquitlam, BC, Michelle Xing, 14, Richmond Hill, Ont. and Anna Huang, 13, of Vancouver. Kwon earned a spot on the team by winning the 2022 Canadian Junior Championship in a season that also included a ninth-place finish at the Toyota Junior World Cup. Xing, who finished third at the NextGen selection camp, won the 2022 Ontario Girls’ Junior Match Play and finished second in the Ontario Girls’ Juvenile Championship. Huang’s notable results include a T4 Canadian Junior ranking, a T22 Canadian Amateur ranking, a Toyota Tour Cup victory and a T3 NextGen Selection Camp ranking.

This year’s field for the Junior Women’s World Championship, presented by Sargent Farms, is highlighted by 11 competitors ranked in the top 100 of the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR), including the tournament’s highest-ranked player, l ‘German Helen Briem (No. 13). Spain is the only country with all three players ranked in the WAGR top 100, with Sweden following in the top 100 for both players. A complete list of competitors, including their WAGR position, is here.

With two victories (2015 and 2019) in the event’s six-year history, Korea has won the most team competition titles, followed by the United States (2014), the Philippines (2016), Spain (2017) and Italy (2018). A history of past winners is available here.

Canada’s best finish in the team competition was third in 2014 and fourth in 2018.

A number of players who have competed in the Junior Women’s World Championship have enjoyed great success on the LPGA Tour, led by Canadian Brooke Henderson, 12-time LPGA winner and no. 6 who finished fourth in the individual competition at the inaugural championship held in 2014.

Other notable competitors who became winners on the LPGA Tour include world no. 2 Atthaya Thitikul of Thailand who won consecutive world junior titles in 2018 and 2019 as well as world number one. 35 Yuka Saso of the Philippines who won the 2016 World Junior title. Hannah Green of Australia and Maja Stark of Sweden are other former World Junior competitors who have won on the LPGA Tour.

Additionally, 12 players who competed in the 2022 CP Women’s Open at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club are Junior Women’s World Championship alumni.

The Angus Glen Golf Club, which will host the Junior Girls World Championship for the third time, is home to two 18-hole championship golf courses in Markham, Ontario. The North and South courses offer variety, beauty and challenges. Angus Glen has been ranked among the top 80 golf courses in the world outside the United States. It hosted the 2002 and 2007 Canadian Open and was the official host of the Toronto 2015 Pan American and Parapan American Games. The 2022 Junior World Championships will be played on the South Course.

The following is a list of countries competing in the seventh annual Junior Women’s World Championship, presented by Sargent Farms:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada (2)
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Colombia
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Mexico
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Swiss
  • Wales

Practice rounds for the 72-hole competition will take place on October 10 and 11 with the first round of play on Wednesday October 12. The tournament closing ceremony will immediately follow the end of play on Saturday 15 October.

Admission to the competition is free.

Comments are closed.