Delhi Golf Club League: Achal Nath and Netra Suri shine on day 2

Veteran golfer Achal Nath and promising junior golfer Netra Suri, both hole-in-ones on the par-3, 17th hole on a day when the “Athletic Drive” team performed best to win 6 of their 7 matches against Team ‘B i Luxury’ in Day 2 of the Delhi Golf Club League. Other teams that performed well included ‘Christie’s Golf’ who won 5 of their 7 games and drew 1 game, while ‘SwingKKings’ won 4 of their 7 games against team ‘Robo4me’ and ‘ The A-Team’ have won 4 of their 7 matches against ‘Birdie Machine’.

Among the standout performers was five-time Indian National Champion and veteran golfer Vikramjit Singh of Team Christie’s Golf, who teamed up with Prem Dugal to beat Dewan Rakesh Nath and Bobby Gupta of Team TeeM EDC. The League, which is played on Delhi Golf Club‘s historic par 72 course, features 13 days of hard-fought golf and culminates in a grand final on October 22, 2022.

The tournament is played on a “Four-Ball Best Ball Matchplay” format. The league will be played in two stages – a Round Robin stage followed by a Knock-out stage. In each playoff game between two teams, each team will field 7 pairs (14 players). One pair from each team will play one pair from the other team in a “Four Ball Best Ball” Matchplay format with all players playing at 75% of their original handicaps. Teams will get points for their wins. The 20 teams were divided into 4 groups. After the Round Robin phase, 2 teams from each group will qualify for the elimination phase starting with the quarter-finals. The final will be played on October 22, 2022. Some of the biggest names in the world of golf who honed their skills at Delhi Golf Club are involved in the League at various levels including three Arjuna award winners namely Shiv Kapur, Nonita Lal Qureshi and Amit Luthra. Plus, stalwarts such as Gaurav Ghei – the first Indian golfer to qualify for The Open Championship ’97; Vivek Bhandari – winner of the ’97 Honda-Siel PGA Championship; Arjun Singh – winner of the Wills Masters ’98; Asian Tour regulars – Chiragh Kumar and Amandeep Johl; Leading Ladies Tour Professionals Mehar Atwal and Ayesha Kapur, Top Coaches Jasjit Singh and Ajai Gupta are involved in the Delhi Golf Club League 2022.

The 20 teams competing in the League are: ‘The A-Team’, ‘Sterling Swingers’, ‘Baale Golf’, Eagles & Birdies’, ‘Christie’s Golf’, ‘SwingKKings’, ‘Shiva Motocorp. Land Rover’, Bajaj Foundation’, Tee Birds’, The Pioneers’, Team Coca-Cola’ ’24 Secure Lions’, ‘TEEm EDC’, Athletic Drive’, ‘BMW-Deutsche Motoren’, ‘Delhi Tigers’, ‘Birdie Machine’, Ardee Par Excellence, robo4me and B i Luxury, the last three being new entrants in the field. (ANI)

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Comments are closed.