Doneraile Golf Club claims the All-Ireland title for mixed foursomes


Doneraile and Enniscrone were crowned Irish Champions on the penultimate day of the 2021 club season at Strandhill GC.

Doneraile won the All-Ireland Mixed Foursomes in dramatic circumstances after a 3.5-1.5 win over Rockmount.

Leading 2-1, with two games to go on the course, James O’Mahony and Aoibheann Daly beat Colin McClenaghan and Rosemary McCrea on the 19th green, to send the Cork club’s large crowd of travelers into wild celebrations.

“It’s amazing. It was a fantastic trip,” O’Mahony said on the green after the win. We would have a brilliant team, supporters and management. People drove four hours this morning to support us. are delighted.

“I’m still in shock,” Daly added. “We’re a small club, but we had massive support. We couldn’t ask to be a part of a better club. Enniscrone beat Elmgreen 3-2 to win the Men’s Four Balls, with Eugene O’Doherty and Ray Basquill, 82, winning the decisive point on the final green to give the Sligo club their first All-Ireland title in almost 20 years .

Speaking after the win, Basquill said it was the highlight of his golfing career so far.

” I am delighted. It is the biggest victory of my career. I won captain’s awards and things like that, but it’s better than anything.

“We had the advantage of playing on a links course today. I had a great partner in Eugene O’Doherty, and we practiced.

“The club haven’t won an All-Ireland since 2004 so it will be a big boost for the club.” In the Revive Active Women’s Four Balls, Ballycastle will meet Ballybunion in Sunday’s final. Ballycastle beat K Club on Saturday afternoon, while Ballybunion beat West Waterford 3.5-1.5 in their respective semi-finals.

All-Ireland Mixed Foursome Final.

Rockmount 1.5-3.5 Doneraile.

Ryan Wilson and Patricia McDonnell lost to Hugh Nolan and Noreen Roche 6 & 5.

Colin McClenaghan and Rosemary McCrea lost to James O’Mahony and Aoibheann Daly on the 19th hole.

Adam Douds and Leonie Power lost to Eddie Roche and Rachel Kelleher 4 & 3.

James Robinson and Sue McDonagh defeated Darren Roche and Marie Kelleher 6 & 5.

Jonathan Patterson and Barbara Fleet halved with David Finn and Ellen Walsh.

Men’s four-ball final.

Elm 2-3 Enniscrone.

Michael Telford and Robin French lost to Michael Concannon and Padraig Tighe 2 & 1.

Alan Keane and PJ O’Brien beat Paddy Dunleavy and Thomas Bourke 2 holes.

Joe Murphy and Ross Brady defeated William Lalor and John Meakin 3 & 1.

Sam Mehigan and Gary Whyte lost to John Rush and Jim Bowe 2 & 1.

Steffen Mortensen and Peter Lawlor lost to Eugene O’Doherty and Ray Basquill 1 hole.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.