Kenya: Anthony Muiruri claims captain’s award at Royal Nairobi Golf Club

Anthony Muiruri braved the morning rains to muster an impressive two-round total of 139 net and win the 2021 Captain’s Award (Sylvester Odhiambo) in the long par 72 at Royal Nairobi Golf Club this weekend.

Muirui won with two shots from Jones Ndombi, who won the men’s award with a score of 141, a shot better than Linus Kowiti, who took the finalists award, and Bharat Gohil on 143 net finishing third.

As expected, Rebecca Likami took home the top female prize after posting 146 net. She won with a shot from Annemarie Vellekoop.

In the senior section, whose round was played Thursday, Henry Nyachae emerged victorious with a score of 40 points.

Meanwhile, Don Riaroh posted 144 net to lead the guests where Edwin Muchai finished second with a 147 net score.

Former Nyanza Golf Club President Tobias See became the top sponsor with a net score of 150. He won with a shot from Felix Ochieng, while Benard Kiraithe on 151 nets was the best past captain.

Leading the first round played on Friday was Kathure Njoroge with an impressive score of 67 net, while Lucas Oluoch won the round prize on Saturday with 68 net.

On the flip side, Njogu Kungu completed a massive 350m run to win the men’s longest run, with Nancy Ikinu winning the women’s longest run, as Chrispine Mudhune was the player closest to it. ‘pin.

“I am truly grateful for all the support you have given and for making this event a great success,” said Odhiambo, former captain of Mombasa Golf Club.

Besides Stanbic Bank, other sponsors included Glenfiddich, Rubis Energy, Solvochem, Nupea, Safaricom, Tourism Fund, Mayfair Insurance, Riley Falcon Security Services, Ola Energy, KK Security, AAR Healthcare and Jovid Travel, among others.

At Kiambu Golf Club, Evans Ngene, playing with a seven handicap, beat a field of 280 golfers to claim the victory with a total score of 67 points.

This earned him a trip to Dubai thanks to Kenya Airways. Alvin Gakere was second, with 65 points, while Stephen Kiaro with 64 points was third.

On the ladies’ side, Joyce Wanjiru, eliminating one, scored 65 points to win the countdown to Wanjiru Karume.

Elvis Muigua was the best junior, while Pius Mworia was the best former president with a score of 29 points and Sammy Muriu was the best former captain with 32 points.

Leading Saturday’s men’s round was Stanley Wainana, who scored 36 points, beating Stephen Kiaro on the scoring.

The women’s title went to Joyce Wanjiru on 35, one point better than Wanjiru Karume.

Nathan Ngotho and Joseph Kahari won the nine with 25 and 19 points. In the branch, PK Kaburu got 38 points, while the female winner was Beratrice Gathara with 42 points and Michael Kariuki was the best guest with 37 points. Elvis Muigua topped the junior roster with 34 points.

Meanwhile, in Friday’s event, 23rd Handicap Stephen Muhinja scored 41 points to win widely ahead of Peter Nganga and William Muguima with 35 points.

Michael Karanga won the rough on 75 and Patricia Mbugua scored 34 points to win the Anne Ngumba countdown.

The nine went to Paul Kaumbutho with 19 points and Lennox Mutua who allowed 20 points.

In the branch, Leonard Mwangi scored 36 points and the winner was Carol Maina with 40 points. Moses Karanu led the guests with 36 points.

On the course of the Nyeri club, Faith Chemutai won the Mt Kenya Ladies Open tournament sponsored by Bayer East Africa.

Chemutai posted an excellent score of 73 points to win the Silver Gross title. The tournament attracted 67 female participants and 30 participants in the male branch.

She was followed by Racheal Ndei, who had 90 points, while handicap 14 Carol Kibaya came in third with 91 points.

Dr Susan Ngure, playing at handicap 19, became the winner of the Silver net with 73 points, followed closely by handicap 20 Ruth Kae and Mary Muthoni, who played at handicap 16, with 77 and 79 points respectively.

Here is a summary of the results of the weekend’s round of golf:

At Thika Greens Golf Resort; Johnnie Walker Golf Series; Winning team;

Hamisi Hassan, John Ngugi, Dickson Kingi, Joseph Muhingo 138 pts, 2nd

Collins Okun, William Musili, B Tororei and Jasan Ngatia 131 points, Brian Masika, Bernard K Macharia, Samson Mureithi and Dominic Chege 130 pts. Subsidiary company; Winner-

Samson Mureithi 41 points cb Munge Karoki. Category B Dickson Kingi 47 pts

Ladies Category A, Betty Mutua 33 cb Esther Mworia. Category B, Margret Warugongo 45 pts. Nine, Christopher Andrea and Patrick Theche 22 points each.

to Nanyuki; Mount Kenya Women’s Open – Nanyuki stage; Gross Winner- Faith Chemutai 69 gross, Rachel Ndei 89, Susan Hiuku 91. Net Winner- Rose Komu 75 net, Linda Kangogo 76, Category B winner- Elizabeth Ngéthe 98 gross, Mary Kiptoo 99, Hellen Kurutu 101. Nett inside- Marion Githinji 73, Caroline Munène 74.

At the Ruiru sports club; early morning golf tournament; Overall winner David Kabera 42pts, men’s winner Isac Nguku 41pts, Micahel Muturi 40pts, lady winner Atlanta Wamahia 32, Paulin e Mungai 31, Nines; Simon Gichuru 23pts, Dixon Waruingi 20, Guest winner Cleopas Makau 30pts, Sponsor winner Joseph Ndome 37pts, James Mureithi 34 pts.

in Nyali; Lelesta Charity Golf Tournament; Overall Winner- Martin Ombura 39, Winner Men- George Choge 38, cb Kevin Smith 38, Winner Lady- Truphena Oyaro 37, Divinah Ongaki 36, Best Senior- Paul Macharia 38, Winner Junior- Mwai Mariga 39, Guest- Caroline Munyi 35; New: Johnson Wamunyua 22 pts, JM Muthuuri 22 pts.

Comments are closed.