Parkes Golf Club successfully hosts the Ladies Open 2022 | Parkes Champion Post

TEERIFFIC: Parkes’ own Anita Medcalf, pictured with Epiroc’s Natalie Simpson, finished second in the Category A scratch at the Parkes Ladies Open. Photo: SUPPLIED.

Parkes Golf Club (PGC) hosted the Ladies Open on Sunday, which has had a difficult few years with COVID.

All plans were in place to welcome visitors and show them the great state the course is currently in, and they did: with 60 players competing in three grades, with 12 visiting clubs represented in the 60-player field .

As is the norm, the Parkes Ladies entertained the contingent in style before and after the event to endear the players and hopefully spread the word for next year’s event. Epiroc, our major event sponsor, again sponsored the day’s event.

The course ran seamlessly with a shotgun start at 9:30 a.m. ensuring that all could be back together at the clubhouse after golf.

In the Grade A scratch, the winner was Chantell Greaves of the Dunedo club on 86 playing on a handicap of 7 that day, with Anita Medcalf of Parkes the second best with an 88 on the stick from a handicap of 13, which was a great effort.

Class B runner-up Jenny Hoy with Natalie Simpson.

Class B runner-up Jenny Hoy with Natalie Simpson.

Nett’s Category A winner was Cowra’s Carmel Mansell on 75, beating Wentworth’s Roslyn Fuller on 76 at home.

The Grade B scratch winner was Wentworth club’s Anne Field on 98, beating local player Jenny Hoy at home on 99. The net was won by Jill Fisher of club Dubbo, beating Charlotte Lee of club Cumnock at home.

In Grade C the ladies played a stableford event with Dubbo’s Toni Beatty beating our very own Margaret Hogan at home. Great effort for Margaret as she has just returned to the course after a long break with back problems.

Stableford’s overall winner of the day was Anne Field with 37 points.

Category C finalist Marg Hogan with Natalie Simpson.

Category C finalist Marg Hogan with Natalie Simpson.

Closer to the pins

  • 15th Hole Level A: K Solberg
  • Category B 11th hole: J Hoy
  • Category C 4th hole: J. Fisher.
  • The silver hole was won by D Haesler

The longest journeys

  • Class A: C. Greaves
  • Class B: Chris Stait (Parkes)
  • Grade C: D. Daly


Ball Winners

  • R Fuller, M. Nicholson 76
  • C. Lee, J. Fletcher, D. Haesler 77
  • L. Stevenson 78
  • N.Death 79
  • Anne Jennein 31
  • B.Randell 30
  • C. Britt
  • R.Forrester 28

The Ladies Committee would like to thank the ProShop and Donna, Tammy and the catering staff, David Stevenson and the clubhouse staff and Logan and his greens maintenance staff and look forward to a larger event in 2023.

Our reporters work hard to provide local, up-to-date news to the community. Here’s how you can access our trusted content:

Comments are closed.