World number one golfer Scottie Scheffler settles the debate on the Ballybunion golf course against Lahinch ahead of the JP McManus Pro-Am

WORLD #1 Golfer Scottie Scheffler weighed in on one of the great debates in Irish golf.

Which golf course is better – Ballybunion or Lahinch?


Scottie Scheffler at Ballybunion Golf Club
Sam Burns and Scottie Scheffler with some of the Lahinch GC members


Sam Burns and Scottie Scheffler with some of the Lahinch GC members


The 2022 Masters champion is currently in Ireland for the JP McManus Pro-Am which started this morning in Limerick at Adare Manor.

Scheffler played the County Kerry and County Clare courses alongside fellow PGA Tour player Sam Burns yesterday as he took to social media to share a number of photos and videos .

The 26-year-old was then asked which course he preferred today before heading into the Pro-Am at Adare Manor.

The player may have gotten himself into hot water with some Irish fans as there is a rivalry between the two clubs, he apparently seemed to settle the dispute after speaking with Sky Sports.

33 painkiller deaths in three years, shocking stats show crisis worsening
Killer's attempt to overturn Nadine Lott's murder conviction is branded a

Scheffler laughed: “You know Lahinch had some really, really cool holes on the front nine, and the back nine too.

“I really like the 4th – the blind par three – but Ballybunion was also quite special. So maybe a little leaning towards Ballybunion.”

Elsewhere, other PGA Tour stars including Jordan Spieth have played in the Munster region ahead of the JP McManus Invitational as they prepare for the 150th British Open which takes place in two weeks.

World number 12 Spieth has taken to social media by sharing a video of himself taking a photo alongside a goat on the Lahinch golf course.

Rickie Fowler and USPGA champion Justin Thomas then joined the three-time major winner at Tralee Golf Club as they enjoyed a pint of Guinness on the Kerry course.

2022 JP McManus Pro-Am champ

  • Thomas Bjorn
  • Sam Burns
  • Rafa Cabrera Bello
  • Patrick Canlay
  • Paul Casey
  • Bryson Dechambeau
  • Luke Donald
  • Jamie Donaldson
  • Paul Dunn
  • Matt Fitzpatrick
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Ricky Fowler
  • Padraig Harrington
  • Tyrrell Hatton
  • Tom Hoge
  • David Howel
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Shane Lowry
  • Leona Maguire
  • Graeme Mcdowell
  • Paul McGinley
  • Rory Mcilroy
  • Collin Morikawa
  • John Murphy
  • Alex Noren
  • Mark O’Meara
  • Thorbjorn Olesen
  • Pat Perez
  • Ian Poulter
  • Seamus Power
  • Jon Rahm
  • Justin Rose
  • Xander Schauele
  • Scottie Scheffler
  • Adam Scott
  • Cormac Sharvin
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Brandon Stone
  • Justin Thomas
  • Harold Varner III
  • Lee Westwood
  • Bernd Wiesberger
  • Danny Willette
  • Tiger Woods
  • Ian Woosnam

The two-day event is live on Virgin Media and Sky Sports.

Comments are closed.